Rookie Champion Takes First Title of 2018

4.1 mins

The Formula 4 South East Asia (F4 SEA) Championship – fueled by Petron – had an amazing weekend of wheel-to-wheel racing action at the world-class Sepang International Circuit, supporting the brilliant grass-roots racing series, the Malaysian Speed Festival (MSF) from the 7th to 8th of July 2018. With that, let’s have a look at who came out on top to take the event champion title.

The new 3-race format employed by the FIA-certified championship saw no less than 10 cars take to the haloed ‘super circuit’ which included many familiar faces and some new ones such as Ontario-native Adam D’Agostino and Japanese compatriots Kubo Masataka of Nagasaki and Ryo Komikado from Tokyo. Familiar faces included Kane Shepherd, Muizz Musyaffa and his countrymen Timothy Yeo and Alister Yoong.

The weekend was given an added twist with the weather playing an unpredictable hand. At the start of the weekend, the heavens opened upon the 5.543km long circuit which made things rather difficult for drivers to attain their desired blistering times in official free practice and qualifying.

Kane Shepherd clocked in the fastest time in qualifying with a pace of 2:35.298, followed by Malaysians Muizz Musyaffa and Timothy Yeo. As the sun broke through the clouds and began drying up the circuit, the lap times plummeted and confidence levels began to rise. The first race saw French-national Alessandro Ghiretti take the podium top spot with Musyaffa and Shepherd in tow.

With the starting grid of race 2 completely reversed from the winning order, Adam was in pole position and defended his position well, but in the end it was Alessandro who again took the win. However a steward’s inquiry later found him to have jumped his start, and penalised him by 10 seconds. As a result, Kane Shepherd was awarded the win, followed by Luke Thompson and Presley Martono.

The third and final race of the weekend again saw a completely reversed grid order with Ryo Komikado starting from pole. 11 laps later and it was 2016 F4 SEA Overall Champion who emerged victorious alongside Ghiretti and Thompson. The final tally thereafter revealed the event champion.

With 55 points accrued, it was Kane Shepherd from the Kingdom of Thailand who took the crown. Presley Martono meanwhile was the runner up champion with 53 points with Alessandro Ghiretti in third with 51 points.

Ghiretti did however go home with the Rookie event champion’s title. Malaysians Muizz Musyaffa and Alister Yoong filed up in second and third with 38 and 20 points respectively.

But the intense wheel-to-wheel, photo-finish action isn’t over yet. For the first time in its history F4 SEA will be having a double-header at the Sepang International Circuit with the following event supporting the exciting Malaysian Championship Series (MCS) from the 13th to 15th of July 2018.

Be sure to catch all the best action from Asia’s premier driver development championship, streamed Live over the FIA F4 SEA Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Formula4SEA/  and YouTube pages. For more information on the championship please visit http://fomula4.asia