2016 MERITUS Awards Gala – F4SEA

2016 MERITUS Awards Gala

After 36 races and six events, the Formula 4 South East Asia (F4/SEA) Championship – certified by...

Monday, 22 January 2017 – After 36 races and six events, the Formula 4 South East Asia (F4/SEA) Championship – certified by FIA inaugural season drew to a close on Sunday at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia with the MERITUS Awards Gala, presented by Petron. The first in what is planned as an annual affair, the event saw the crowning of the F4/SEA Championship’s first ever title winner.

After closing out what proved to be a closely-fought season that saw the championship race going down to the wire, the Overall champion was awarded to Indonesia’s Presley Martono (565 points, INA, Car #32) who pipped New Zealand’s Faine Kahia (563 points, NZL, Car #55) by just two points. Rounding off the top three was India’s Akash Gowda (457 points, IND, Car #33). The trio will each get a GP2 test drive, with Kahia also getting a works Lamborghini GT3 test, while the champion will receive significant funding to

The young Indonesian rookie Martono also claimed the Overall Rookie title after a stellar season that saw the teenager rack up a total of 717 points. In the runners’ up position was Malaysian youngster and formula-racing debutant Isyraf Danish M Ghazali (MAS, Car #19) who finished the season with 486 points. His results came on the back of a stellar result of six podium finishes from the six races contested at the weekend, including a maiden race victory. In third place in the F4/SEA rookie standings was Oman’s Khalid Al-Wahaibi (OMN, Car #8) who came away from the season with 434 points.

The inaugural MERITUS Awards Gala also saw awards handed out in the National Rising Star categories for the nations represented in the first F4/SEA season. These included awards to Singapore’s Danial Frost (SIN, Car #66), Oman’s Al-Wahaibi, Kiwi Kahia, Martono for Indonesia, Gowda for India and Isyraf Danish as Malaysia’s rising star.

In celebrating the future of motorsports, the event champions from each of the six events were also given a mention. These included Frost who became the first ever F4/SEA Star Driver at the opening event in August; Gowda following his impressive performance at Event 2 at the Clark International Speedway in the Philippines; Martono for dominating Event 3 on home soil at the Sentul International Circuit; Jordan Love (AUS, Car #79) at Event 4 in Sepang; Kahia after a superb run at the Buriram International Circuit for Event 5 and Isyraf Danish as the season finale Event 6 Star Driver.

In recognising the spirit of young motor racing talents, awards were also handed out to Malaysia’s Jazeman Jaafar for his outstanding achievement in motorsports by an ASEAN driver; and Rio Haryanto of Indonesia as the ASEAN Driver of the Year following his extraordinary achievements that included being Indonesia’s first ever Formula 1 driver.

In recognising the extraordinary, exceptional and continuous contribution to Malaysian and regional motorsports, the MERITUS Awards Gala also presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Yang Mulia Tunku Datuk Mudzaffar Tunku Mustapha, chairman of the Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM) and the only Malaysian to sit on the world senate at the FIA (Federation Internationale de l’Automobile).

The event also saw the introduction of the MERITUS AAA Futuro Spirit Award, which will be awarded from the forthcoming F4/SEA season, giving the next batch of young drivers to compete for the Overall Champion title and a significant prize purse of RM1million to assist their career progression.

MERITUS Awards Gala – Award Recipients

MAG National Rising Star Singapore:Danial Frost
MAG National Rising Star OmanKhalid Al-Wahaibi
MAG National Rising Star New Zealand:Faine Kahia
MAG National Rising Star Indonesia:Presley Martono
MAG National Rising Star India:Akash Gowda
MAG National Rising Star Malaysia:Isyraf Danish
MAG F4/SEA Championship Driver with the most wins:Presley Martono
MAG F4/SEA Rookie Champion:Presley Martono (Indonesia, 717 points)
MAG F4/SEA Rookie 2nd Place:Isyraf Danish (Malaysia, 486 points)
MAG F4/SEA Rookie 3rd Place:Khalid Al-Wahaibi (Oman, 434 points)
MAG F4/SEA Overall Champion:Presley Martono (Indonesia, 565 points)
MAG F4/SEA Overall 2nd Place:Faine Kahia (New Zealand, 563 points)
MAG F4/SEA Overall 3rd Place:Akash Gowda (India, 457 points)
MAG Outstanding Achievement in Motorsports by an ASEAN driver: Jazeman Jaafar (Malaysia)
MAG ASEAN Driver of the year:Rio Haryanto (Indonesia)
MAG Lifetime Achievement Award:YM Tunku Datuk Mudzaffar Tunku Mustapha, Chairman AAM

Formula 4 SEA

Is F1 your dream? FIA F4(Formula 4 SEA) is the first step! F4SEA is a 30 race 5 event championship, designed to transition karters to formula racing. The championship focuses on training young drivers while supporting events like Formula 1 and Asian Le Mans.