Faces of F4 SEA

4.1 mins

Formula 4 South East Asia (F4 SEA) – fueled by Petron – is more than just an FIA-certified championship, it’s the golden standard by which all junior racing drivers are measured. One of 13 global F4 championships, the regional one-make F4 SEA racing series is a melting pot of international personalities here in Asia.

The 2016-17 inaugural season of F4 SEA saw no less than 24 drivers take to the grid as they battled their peers for victory with events in Malaysia, Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand.

While visiting those countries the Championship came face-to-face with amazingly talented drivers such as Gabriel Cabrera and Angie King from the Filipino archipelago. Presley Martono and siblings Kezia and Keanon Santoso represented their home flag of Indonesia. Presley went on to clench his home event championship as well as the overall Driver and Rookie Championship titles.

After Sentul Indonesia, the F4 championship visited the Buriram United International Circuit with the addition of fresh local faces such as rookie driver Kane Shepherd and US-based Thai star driver Worawong Komarakul. Thereafter, Malaysia was the home of the F4 finals, where drivers like Adam Khalid, Eric Louis Pragasam, Isyraf Danish and Chia Wing Hoong kept the Jalur Gemilang flying high.

Akash Gowda and Mohammad Nalwalla represented the sub-continent of India, while Dean Koutsoumidis, Dimitrios Zartaloudis and Jordan Love represented Australia. Khalid Al-Wahaibi of Oman, Danial Frost of Singapore, Daniel Lu Hibbit of China and French-national Daniel Tatinclaux completed the line-up.

This season has seen Danial Frost and Kane Shepherd return to the 2017-18 F4SEA Championship. Joining the roster at the historic Finale of the Malaysian Formula One Grand Prix were Nayan Chatterjee, rookie Shivin Sirinarinthon, Daniel Cao, Luke Thompson, Perdana Minang, Eshan Pieris and Nazim Azman of Malaysia.

Filipino siblings Ben and Sam Grimes joined the Championship at the Clark International Speedway alongside Adam Khalid and his Malaysian compatriot Timothy Yeo. Thereafter the world’s youngest formula driver, Ugo De Wilde from Belgium, joined UK-based Thai-racer Chaimongkol Sasakorn at the Buriram United International Circuit.

By the fourth event back at the Sepang Circuit, the Championship saw Aaron Love of Australia, Okinawa-native Hibiki Taira, Benson Lin of Taiwan and Liam Lawrence of Sri Lanka join the action. Muizz Musyaffa, Alister Yoong (son of F1 driver Alex Yoong) and Mitchell Cheah all sported the Malaysian colours at the penultimate event, with Cheah going on to steal the Event title away from Daniel Cao by the one extra point awarded for fastest lap.

Event 5 is the highly-anticipated 2017-18 Championship finals with perhaps the largest grid line-up expected at the Sepang International Circuit this 13-15 April 2018 supporting the Malaysian Championship Series (MCS) and the Blancpain GT Asia Series.

The Championship will be crowning the highly-anticipated final Event Champion that weekend. Be sure to follow our social media platforms to get up to speed with all the happenings of the championship and find out more about the 23 drivers this season on our website https://formula4.asia/