F4 SEA to Open at Malaysian Grand Prix – F4SEA

F4 SEA to Open at Malaysian Grand Prix

The 2017-18 season of the Formula 4 South East Asia Championship – certified by FIA – will comme...

Formula 1 Confirms 6 Support Races at 2017 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix

Kuala Lumpur, Tuesday 4 July 2017 – The 2017-18 season of the Formula 4 South East Asia Championship – certified by FIA – will commence with six (6) support races at the 2017 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix.

This change to the previously-announced F4 SEA 2017-18 calendar comes following Formula 1’s revision to the timetable for the 2017 Formula 1 Singapore Airlines Singapore Grand Prix. Instead of opening in Singapore, F4 SEA will now stage its first event of the 2017-18 season with a six-race programme at Sepang from 29 September to 1 October.

From Malaysia, the only FIA F4 driver development championship in South East Asia will proceed to the Philippines to the Clark International Speedway from 20 to 22 October before heading to the Sentul International Circuit in Indonesia from 24 to 26 November.  In the new year, Thailand’s Buriram International Circuit from will host event four from 12 to 14 January before making a return trip to Sepang for the season finale between 8 to 10 February.

One of 12 worldwide championships in the FIA’s F4 global format, the FIA single-operated F4/SEA Championship is designed to help young aspiring motorsport talents fulfil their racing ambitions.

This most comprehensive and cost-effective F4 programme is the only driver development championship in Asia, and provides young racers with 30 race starts, extensive track time, experienced engineers and coaches with shared data to build their motorsport careers.  Most importantly, F4 SEA drivers begin to collect their FIA Super Licence points on this first FIA step to F1 in Asia.

Issued by

2017-18 Calendar

Event Date Races Venue
1) 29 September – 1 October 1 – 6 Sepang International Circuit (Malaysia)
(Petronas Malaysia F1 Grand Prix)
2) 20 – 22 October 7 – 12 Clark International Speedway (Philippines)
3) 22 – 24 November 13 – 18 Sentul International Circuit (Indonesia)
4) 12 – 14 January 2018 19 – 24 Buriram International Circuit (Thailand)
5) 22 – 24 November 25 – 30 Sepang International Circuit (Malaysia)

Formula 4 SEA

Is F1 your dream? FIA F4(Formula 4 SEA) is the first step! F4SEA is a 30 race 5 event championship, designed to transition karters to formula racing. The championship focuses on training young drivers while supporting events like Formula 1 and Asian Le Mans.