2018 Event 8 Race 3

2.8 mins

It had been sunny all year at the Sepang International Circuit down here in Malaysia, but of course, anything that can happen will happen, and during our first night race no less. This, I am sure, made Malthe Jakobsen very excited to start on pole. The Dane is one of the few people who has night race experience so as the lights went out Jakobsen was away.

Shihab Al Habsi got off the line excellently aswell, pulling inside the Dane through the first corner of the race. But that put Jakobsen on the inside of turn two and he took full advantage dashing over the rumble strip with Ryo in tow as the whole pack skated through the opening section.

Starting from the back once again the championship leaders carved up the pack over the next few laps with Alessandro finding his way into P2, but not before the Dane at the front of the pack had opened up a five second gap. The pressure was now on the flying Frenchman to hunt down the leader of the race.

Malthe had been setting the fastest laps, but now with some clean air Ghiretti put his foot down. The flying Frenchman put in some blistering times, but with only five laps to go, he’d need to be going a second faster every lap and that’s not quite possible, even at night and in the rain.

Meanwhile Kane Shepherd had worked his way past traffic and now had an Omani car just out of reach. Thailand’s Shepherd and the number two man in the championship started closing in on the Omani speedster, eventually getting close enough to make a move. On the last corner of the last lap, as is expected from F4 SEA, Kane tried through turn 15, but Al Habsi just held on and as they crossed the start finish straight it was Denmark, France, Oman, with Alessandro settling for the fastest lap of the race four hundredths of a second fastest than the race leader.


Pos Driver Time
1) Adam Khalid A. Khalid
2) Private: Malthe Jakobsen P. M. Jakobsen
3) Private: Shihab Al Habsi P. S. A. Habsi
4) Ryo Komikado R. Komikado
5) Private: Moulay el Aloui P. M. E. Aloui
6) Shahkirah Shaharul S. Shaharul
7) Alister Yoong A. Yoong
8) Private: Louie Westover P. L. Westover
9) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo
10) Private: Lucca Allen P. L. Allen
11) Luke Thompson L. Thompson
12) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa
13) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti
14) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd
Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Private: Malthe Jakobsen P. M. Jakobsen 20:46.926 2:34.065
2) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 20:50.978 2:34.021
3) Private: Shihab Al Habsi P. S. A. Habsi 21:02.572 2:36.199
4) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 21:02.775 2:34.267
5) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 21:07.729 2:34.892
6) Private: Lucca Allen P. L. Allen 21:12.576 2:36.614
7) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 21:18.514 2:36.825
8) Private: Louie Westover P. L. Westover 21:24.355 2:37.792
9) Ryo Komikado R. Komikado 21:33.944 2:40.409
10) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 21:45.904 2:39.164
11) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 21:50.755 2:40.312
12) Private: Moulay el Aloui P. M. E. Aloui 22:00.138 2:38.696
13) Shahkirah Shaharul S. Shaharul 22:23.373 2:44.961
14) Adam Khalid A. Khalid DNS