2018 Event 8 Qualifying 1

2.5 mins

Ghiretti lead the way out for qualifying breaking into the 2:13s in the first 5 mins on his fresh tyres. The flying Frenchman started off with a 2:13.666 doubling down the next lap with a 2:13.279 as Kane shepherd followed 3 tenths behind.

The next man was Luca Allen, the fighting Irishman was on the podium in the last event, an impressive outing for his first time in Asia and now he’s challenging in qualifying, knocking on the door of the 2:13s as fellow newcomers Malthe and Shihab follow right behind.

The trio fought back and forth switching positions as newcomer and formula car rookie Louie Westover forced Ryo Komikado into P7. Ryo started racing with us for the first time at the beginning of the year, the Japanese driver has been improving throughout the championship, earning his first podium finish in India and his second last weekend, so we’re all on the edge of our seats to see how he does in the finals.

Back at the front of the grid Malthe Jakobsen had stolen P3 from Allen, the fighting Irishman might of had something to say about that but as the leaders returned to the pits, it became evident that all of the grid wanted to conserve their tyres. It’s important to remember that this set must last three races and at 60km’s plus per race that adds up to a huge advantage. With that in mind Lucca pitted after three laps, the same as Ghiretti, with Malthe following suit the next time around.

Kane Shepherd pitted in lap 6 with the rest of the grid following suit, all except Luke Thompson who stayed out on track determined to find position. After ten laps he did just that, putting in a 2:14:441 to secure fourth just ahead of his comrade Lucca Allen.


Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 2:13.279
2) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 2:13.436
3) Private: Malthe Jakobsen P. M. Jakobsen 2:14.312
4) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 2:14.441
5) Private: Lucca Allen P. L. Allen 2:14.580
6) Private: Louie Westover P. L. Westover 2:15.477
7) Ryo Komikado R. Komikado 2:16.006
8) Private: Shihab Al Habsi P. S. A. Habsi 2:16.014
9) Private: Moulay el Aloui P. M. E. Aloui 2:19.387
10) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 2:20.035
11) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 2:20.403
12) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 2:21.228
13) Adam Khalid A. Khalid 2:22.266
14) Shahkirah Shaharul S. Shaharul 2:23.351