2018 Event 7 Race 1

3.4 mins

As the lights went out for the first race of the semi-final Ghiretti had a great start, surging into second! But the man of the day was Lucca Allen who progressed from fourth from seventh as the flying Frenchman attacked Kane Shepherd through turn 1.

Ghiretti had to tuck in behind Shepherd through the first half of the circuit but made his move up the inside of turn 9 under heavy braking and took first away from Thailand. Kane would stay within 7 tenths the rest of the race, but Ghiretti eventually took the gold while all the action was further down the grid.

Muizz Musyaffa had a difficult start. He told us afterwards he was on the damp side of the track, but the Malaysian managed to regain his composure and in the latter half of the race he sprung to life with consistent 2:15s. He eventually set the fastest lap of the race with a 2:15.125 eventually closing the gap with Shepherd and Ghiretti to 5 tenths.

While Muizz was catching up to the race leaders, Emily Linscott and Shakirah Shaharul were battling it out for 7th.  Emily had started ahead of her Malaysian rival, but Shakirah got past at the beginning of the race down the main straight. Unfazed, the British driver started the process of wheeling in the yellow number 11 ahead of her.

With six laps to go the duo were still fighting for position when, in a daring move, Emily dived-bombed up the inside of turn 15. Shakirah has plenty of experience at Sepang and at first it looked like she would get a better exit and retake the position down the main straight. However, as they went past the chequered flag it was the orange number 99 of Emily Linscott who was ahead.

At this point Muizz had closed in on Kane Shepherd. With just a lap to go the gap was under a second and Muizz looked poised to strike. The Malaysian had made moves through turn 2, 4, 9 and 14 but this time around he waited until the last corner of the last lap to strike! But it wasn’t meant to be and as the chequered flag waved it was France, Thailand and Malaysia – First, Second and Third.

There’s more action to come tomorrow with races 20 and 21 and of course we still have an event champion to crown so be sure to watch the livestream tomorrow morning from 10:55 on our Facebook page http://fiaf4.asia/2018-Race20


Pos Driver Time
1) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 2:14.416
2) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 2:14.510
3) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 2:14.617
4) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 2:15.649
5) Adam Khalid A. Khalid 2:15.928
6) Private: Malthe Jakobsen P. M. Jakobsen 2:15.961
7) Private: Lucca Allen P. L. Allen 2:16.123
8) Ryo Komikado R. Komikado 2:16.465
9) Private: Emily Linscott P. E. Linscott 2:17.572
10) Shahkirah Shaharul S. Shaharul 2:18.832
Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 27:19.064 2:15.261
2) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 27:21.910 2:15.453
3) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 27:22.465 2:15.125
4) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 27:41.385 2:16.558
5) Private: Malthe Jakobsen P. M. Jakobsen 27:47.983 2:16.939
6) Ryo Komikado R. Komikado 27:54.657 2:17.412
7) Private: Emily Linscott P. E. Linscott 28:36.147 2:19.845
8) Shahkirah Shaharul S. Shaharul 27:24.570 2:21.100
9) Private: Lucca Allen P. L. Allen 2:24.643 DNF
10) Adam Khalid A. Khalid DNF