2018 Event 4 Race 1

2.9 mins

Muizz Musyaffa had a strong start to Race 1 attacking Alessandro Ghiretti from the moment the lights went out. But the Frenchman moved across and closed the door going into turn 1 and led the race from there, a brilliant return to his winning streak from last week and perhaps the start of a perfect weekend.

That said, the real action was just behind the French driver where Luke Thompson overtook Antoine Potty at the start. But the Belgium driver wasn’t going to let Luke stay ahead for long. This weekend has seen a fantastic return to form for Potty, who had an unfortunate second 2 races last event. Antoine started off this round by setting the fastest lap in free practice by finding 2 tenths in sector 1, which is the stretch of track from the start finish straight to turn 4. He used this discovery to reel in Thompson and then the 2017 FIA Formula 4 South East Asia Rookie champion, Kane Shepherd.

As turn 4 is just past the sector 1 marker, that’s where Antoine has found the most success overtaking his competitors. He did it last week with Aidan Wright and he tried to do it again this morning with Kane Shepherd, going around the outside of turn 4 looking to have the advantage on the inside line through the sweeping right handed U-turn just ahead. Unfortunately, he touched Shepherds right rear wheel and both drivers had a brief trip through the grass.

Antoine didn’t give up and kept pushing Kane, right down to the last lap hoping to find another way past and he was almost there, within 2 tenths until the end of the race. But as the chequered flag waved it was Ghiretti, Shepherd and Potty – First, Second and Third.

At the end of the race it was found that Muizz Musyaffa and Antoine Potty jumped the start, and both were given 30 second penalties putting Antoine in fifth and Luke Thompson in third.

Be sure to tune back in at 1300 (GMT+0530) for the live stream of the second race where we find out if Ghiretti can maintain his winning streak https://fiaf4.asia/2018_Live_Race-1


Pos Driver Time
1) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 1:37.757
2) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 1:38.039
3) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 1:38.041
4) Antoine Potty A. Potty 1:38.335
5) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 1:38.915
6) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 1:39.363
7) Chetan Korada C. Korada 1:40.043
8) Ryo Komikado R. Komikado 1:40.241
9) Aidan Wright A. Wright 1:41.762
Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 24:49.279 1:37.742
2) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 24:52.274 1:38.127
3) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 25:04.684 1:38.789
4) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 25:10.829 1:39.087
5) Antoine Potty A. Potty 25:22.512 1:38.103
6) Ryo Komikado R. Komikado 25:30.661 1:39.588
7) Chetan Korada C. Korada 17:10.092 1:40.276 DNF
8) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 10:29.802 1:37.851 DNF
9) Aidan Wright A. Wright 06:55.356 1:41.258 DNF