2018 Event 3 Race 1

3.5 mins

Race 1 kick-started this Sunday morning bright and early at 9am. The drivers lined up in their positions from qualifying with Ghiretti on pole, followed by Shepherd and Muizz. As the lights went out, Ghiretti took us down the main straight into Turn 1, diving up the inside to block Shepherd, before returning to the racing line.

But Thompson had a better start than the Malaysian Muizz Musyaffa whom he got past coming into T1 just behind the race leaders, putting France, Thailand, Ireland and Malaysia in 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th positions for a short time.

Muizz knocked on Luke’s door for several laps, but coming out of turn 3 the Malaysian lost his rear and spun round just missing the Australian behind him; fortunately he made a good recovery and returned in P6. From there Ghiretti looked set to take the win with Kane and Luke following suit, but when a safety car was called out, everyone got bunched back up.

Ghiretti had a fantastic restart, pulling away from Shepherd, perhaps due to his qualifying strategy which ensured him fresher tyres than the Thai driver behind him – his main competition for the 2018 driver’s championship. But Luke Thompson in the pink car number 42 had a terrible turn of events when Ozzie Aidan Wright found a way past him on the first turn.  Antoine Potty then piled past on his way up to turn 2, opening the door for Muizz to jump through the inside lane at turn 2. Luckily the Irishman managed to regain the position from Muizz, but dropping from third to fifth in the space of two corners was disheartening and his day wasn’t over yet.

Muizz continued to chip away at Luke’s heels and eventually found a way past. As the chequered flag waved an end to the first F4 race on Indian soil, Alessandro Ghiretti, having led from lap 1, stood at the top of the podium with Kane Shepherd in second and Antoine Potty – who had found his pace during the race – finishing a well-deserved third. Ghirtetti also bagged the rookie title followed by Potty and Muizz.

Race 2 will be a reverse grid, and will see Ghiretti starting last and Ryo Komikado, the Japanese driver of the pink car number 46, on pole for the first time.  All eyes will be on the Tokyo native and we can’t wait to see what the rookie will do at the front of Race 2, so be sure to watch us live: https://fiaf4.asia/2018_Live_Race-8


Pos Driver Time
1) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 1:37.736
2) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 1:38.069
3) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 1 :38.715
4) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 1:39.002
5) Antoine Potty A. Potty 1:39.123
6) Aidan Wright A. Wright 1:39.997
7) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 1:40.114
8) Ryo Komikado R. Komikado 1:41.111
Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 00:25:42.565 1:37.901
2) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 00:25:44.594 1:37.969
3) Antoine Potty A. Potty 00:25:52.451 1:38.657
4) Aidan Wright A. Wright 00:25:53.105 1:38.520
5) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 00:25:53.404 1:38.748
6) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 00:25:57.030 1:38.758
7) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 00:26:26;144 1:40.49
8) Ryo Komikado R. Komikado 00:26:28.960 1:40.685