2018 Event 2 Race 3

4.2 mins

The third and final race of the Formula 4 South East Asia Championship took place under a blanket of rain-threatening clouds that blocked out much of the sun’s rays. As usual, the intrepid bunch of drivers filed out onto the track on time and without incident.

With the formational lap done and dusted, it was the battle of the pinks up front! Liam Lawrence and Luke Thompson get off to a flying start but the Colombo-native kept his lead against Thompson. Adam D’Agostino kept up the pressure too from third place. The field filed down the first half-dozen corners brilliantly constantly swapping positions, however the pressure was mounting.

As the starting grid was completely reversed from the results of Race 2, Kane Shepherd and Alessandro Ghiretti started from the back of the grid, but did not stay there for long. With a series of expert manoeuvres around the mid-field, Ghiretti was able to carve his way to second, bypassing Thompson, Lawrence and Timothy Yeo.

By the third lap, Ghiretti had snapped up the lead with Thompson and a very fast approaching Musyaffa in tow. Shepherd meanwhile was clawing his way up and had his eye on the third spot. Antoine Potty however was showing remarkable progress and had inched his way to fifth.

Two laps later, the heat was definitely turned up to eleven. Ghiretti was in the lead with Muizz and Kane chasing hard. Behind the trio was yet another battle for fourth as Yeo, Aidan Wright and Potty threw down the hammer and went for it.

However, just before going into Turn 10, Ghiretti started falling back, thus gifting Musyaffa the lead with Shepherd and Potty behind him. Ghiretti pulled into the pits and subsequently retired. Out on track, Kane was pressing Musyaffa hard for the lead. Potty meanwhile was busy defending his position from Malaysia’s Timothy Yeo. Lawrence however spun coming out of Turn 14 but quickly recovered and re-joined in ninth.

With just two laps left on the clock, Muizz was starting to widen the gap between himself and Shepherd. The duo was more than eight seconds ahead of Potty. The same could be said of the rest of the field-with the sun coming out from under its covers, the drivers had more confidence to push their machines harder.

Muizz hung on to his precious lead even with Kane pushing hard from behind. Shortly thereafter, the Malaysian claimed his first win of the weekend with a best time of 2:16.165. Kane and Potty joined him on the winners step. Wright, Yeo and Thompson settle for fourth, fifth and sixth respectively.

The amazing action of the Formula 4 South East Asia will return as the Championship visits the amazing sub-continent of India for its next double-header at the Madras Motor Race Track in Chennai. For more information on the Championship and all race results from the weekend, please visit http://formula4.asia . Alternatively please visit our official facebook page to re-live the heart racing moments from the season and for future updates.


Pos Driver Time
1) Liam Lawrence L. Lawrence
2) Luke Thompson L. Thompson
3) Adam D’Agostino A. D’Agostino
4) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa
5) Aidan Wright A. Wright
6) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo
7) Antoine Potty A. Potty
8) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd
9) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti
Pos Driver L1L2L3L4L5L6L7L8L9L10L11
1) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 2:24.9232:17.3112:17.3542:16.1652:16.5602:16.2832:17.0612:16.9952:17.1092:16.1892:16.650
2) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 2:24.3952:17.7192:16.8532:17.3872:16.2352:16.1452:17.1962:16.1032:17.1872:16.4652:16.188
3) Antoine Potty A. Potty 2:25.0322:19.6502:16.6312:16.9652:18.1812:18.0682:17.5602:16.8462:16.9702:17.4292:16.853
4) Aidan Wright A. Wright 2:24.7022:19.9702:17.4722:17.6622:19.0222:17.7632:17.2962:17.2302:17.2472:18.0542:19.679
5) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 2:23.1382:18.4482:19.0232:17.9122:18.2852:17.9232:18.2532:17.5812:17.2482:18.0072:20.425
6) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 2:23.8972:18.2972:18.3642:20.1912:19.1262:18.4392:18.3172:17.7982:18.2132:18.2442:18.328
7) Adam D’Agostino A. D’Agostino 2:26.3742:20.6102:20.0372:17.3222:17.4722:18.6312:17.6192:17.7802:17.7082:19.2342:18.414
8) Liam Lawrence L. Lawrence 2:26.1642:21.9242:21.0262:19.5852:20.3372:19.8472:20.1402:19.6542:40.6622:20.2692:20.164
9) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 2:22.6212:17.6982:16.6212:16.6302:16.6022:16.6552:36.618
Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 25:16.070 2:16.165
2) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 25:16.314 2:16.103
3) Antoine Potty A. Potty 25:24.495 2:16.631
4) Aidan Wright A. Wright 25:29.675 2:17.230
5) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 25:30.028 2:17.248
6) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 25:31.493 2:17.798
7) Adam D’Agostino A. D’Agostino 25:34.015 2:17.322
8) Liam Lawrence L. Lawrence 26:11.409 2:19.585
9) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 16:28.156 2:16.602