2017 Event 5 Race 6

3.7 mins

The race we’ve all been waiting for, the last race of the finale event of the Formula 4 South East Asia Championship has provided more exciting action along with lots of unanticipated spills and thrills.

In this final instalment Daniel Cao, Muizz Musyaffa and Isyraf Danish started the race with the best view in the house. Nazim Azman, Alessandro Ghiretti and Presley Martono started from fourth, fifth and sixth. The weather on the other hand was overcast with the possibility of rain.

After an incident-free formation lap, the drivers were ready to race. Following a smooth start off the line, Daniel led the party down to the chicane. However by the fourth turn, Muizz had inched his way past Daniel Cao. Everyone was pushing their machines to the ragged edge.  By this time, Cao had lost his top spot and was relegated down to fourth.

Presley and Cao locked up their brakes going into Turn 1 of the following lap. Ghiretti and Danish meanwhile was busy climbing up the ranks.

While the rest of the field was embroiled in an intense battle in this final race, Muizz kept his comfortable lead secure with a gap of 3.5 seconds. At the same time, Presley and Isyraf managed to sweep up second and third. Ghiretti lost his pace and fought from 8th place.

On lap three, Ghiretti and Cao made contact and both sustained front wing damage which resulted in reduced grip and limited aero, making their cars much harder to control and the fight for the event championship all the more intense.   Both drivers pushed on relentlessly despite the damage.

Towards the end, Isyraf clawed his way past Martono to claim second. Shepherd meanwhile climbed up to fourth, overtaking Hibiki.  Isyraf faced immense pressure throughout from Presley, Kane and Hibiki as they charged hard.

By the last lap, Presley was drafting Isyraf with millimetre precision down the main straight but the Malaysian held his own and defended his position valiantly.

The chequered flag waved a well-deserving Muizz the victor of the final race of the 2017-18 Championship with a best time of 2:15.691. What a proud moment it was to have a Malaysian win on home soil in this last race of the season.

“I’m so very excited to be the winner here in Sepang. It’s been a great experience for me to be on podium amidst such formidable opponents” exclaimed a grinning Muizz Musyaffa.

Equally amazing was the second place finish Malaysia’s Isyraf Danish.  2016 championship winner Presley Martono followed in third. Kane Shepherd, Hibiki Taira and Nazim Azman settled for fourth, fifth and sixth respectively.   

All in all it was an amazing finish to an action packed 2017 season.


Pos Driver Time
1) Daniel Cao D. Cao
2) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa
3) Isyraf Danish I. Danish
4) Nazim Azman N. Azman
5) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti
6) Presley Martono P. Martono
7) Luke Thompson L. Thompson
8) Hibiki Taira H. Taira
9) Arsh Johany A. Johany
10) Armand Johany A. Johany
11) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo
12) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd
Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 20:31.779 2:15.691
2) Isyraf Danish I. Danish 20:36.194 2:15.771
3) Presley Martono P. Martono 20:36.945 2:15.889
4) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 20:37.187 2:14.950
5) Hibiki Taira H. Taira 20:37.451 2:15.636
6) Nazim Azman N. Azman 20:39.999 2:15.541
7) Daniel Cao D. Cao 20:53.672 2:17.762
8) Armand Johany A. Johany 20:57.614 2:17.773
9) Arsh Johany A. Johany 20:59.498 2:17.697
10) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 21:03.271 2:17.146
11) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 21:03.365 2:17.779
12) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 21:04.878 2:15.833