2017 Event 5 Race 4

3.2 mins

The starting grid for Race 4 of the Formula 4 South East Asia Championship was determined by the second fastest time clocked in qualifying. Malaysia’s Muizz Musyaffa was on pole followed by Daniel Cao and Hibiki Taira.

After the formation lap had been run, the drivers took their places on the starting grid, eagerly awaiting the red lights to go out.

It was good start for the Malaysian as he barrelled down the straight toward Turn 1. Daniel Cao and Hibiki Taira meanwhile were neck and neck going through the first few corners. However Daniel seemed to lose his pace and fell to fifth position.

Presley Martono crept up from the mid-field to inch past Taira and Cao to occupy third. Frenchman Alessandro Ghiretti was on a similar pace and even made his way past Martono in a series of overtaking manoeuvres.

Armand Johany on the other hand, spun out onto the gravel and was not able to restart his machine. As safety is an utmost priority, the safety car was deployed to keep the pace. Shortly thereafter, the safety car pulled into the pits after Armand was cleared from the gravel and the race was resumed.

Muizz continued to lead the field with the Frenchman and Indonesian in tow. That being said, the duo were piling the pressure on the Malaysian.

In the mid-field, Kane Shepherd who was trailing Cao, faced much pressure from Malaysian’s Nazim Azman, Isyraf Danish and Timothy Yeo.

Upfront, Ghiretti managed to pass speedy Muizz for the top spot. But the Malaysian kept up the unrelenting pace, forcing Ghiretti to lock up going into Turn 1.

The final lap was a heart-stopper as Muizz fought to get past. The Chequered flag waved Ghiretti, Muizz and Presley first, second and third respectively.

“It was a great race ! The safety car definitely gave me an edge to close the gap with Muizz who was very fast but I managed to get passed to take first place” exclaimed Alessandro Gheiretti

With the fourth race in the bag, the following is set to be a show-stopper. Commencing at 1315 hrs (GMT +8), the penultimate race of the final event will be streamed Live on the Formula 4 South East Asia Facebook page. Please follow our various other social media platforms to keep up with all the happenings from the Championship.


Pos Driver Time
1) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 2:13.534
2) Daniel Cao D. Cao 2:13.595
3) Hibiki Taira H. Taira 2:13.605
4) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 2:13.706
5) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 2:13.798
6) Presley Martono P. Martono 2:13.920
7) Nazim Azman N. Azman 2:13.925
8) Isyraf Danish I. Danish 2:14.116
9) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 2:15.052
10) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 2:15.496
11) Arsh Johany A. Johany 2:16.002
12) Armand Johany A. Johany 2:16.131
Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 21:22.669 2:14.600
2) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 21:22.904 2:14.870
3) Presley Martono P. Martono 21:23.333 2:14.573
4) Hibiki Taira H. Taira 21:23.647 2:14.526
5) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 21:23.898 2:14.594
6) Nazim Azman N. Azman 21:24.051 2:14.534
7) Daniel Cao D. Cao 21:25.460 2:14.983
8) Isyraf Danish I. Danish 21:26.031 2:14.690
9) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 21:32.090 2:15.769
10) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 21:32.496 2:15.536
11) Armand Johany A. Johany 2:20.770 DNF
12) Arsh Johany A. Johany DNS