2017 Event 5 Practice 1

1.8 mins

Official Free Practice signalled the start of the 2017-18 Formula 4 South East Asia Championship’s fifth event here at the Sepang international circuit.

The grid of excited young drivers made their way out the pits onto the track at 9am. Joining Malaysians Nazim Azman, Isyraf Danish, Muizz Musyaffa, Timothy Yeo and the brothers Johany were  2016 F4 SEA champion Presley Martono and Alessandro Ghiretti of Morocco.

Making their way back for the Championship finale is rookie ace Kane Shepherd, Okinawa-native Hibiki Taira, Luke Thompson and two-time event champion Daniel Cao.

Nazim Azman took the fastest time of the session followed by Cao and Martono. Meanwhile Armand Johany spun as he negotiated his exit from turn 12, however he managed to keep moving and rejoined the field.

On the other side of the circuit, Isyraf Danish attacked turn 1 in a cloud of tyre smoke as he charged down the Grandstand Straight.

 “Martono is so fast. He trailed me throughout most of session. He’s one to look out for this weekend!” said Azman.

The racing is so close in fact, that the top five drivers are separated by a mere two-tenths of a second.

“The track is really good. I’m just taking it easy out there and getting the hang of the F4 car once again” said MRF vice-champion Martono.


Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Nazim Azman N. Azman 2:13.388
2) Daniel Cao D. Cao 2:13.404
3) Presley Martono P. Martono 2:13.441
4) Alessandro Ghiretti A. Ghiretti 2:13.447
5) Isyraf Danish I. Danish 2:13.591
6) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 2:13.940
7) Hibiki Taira H. Taira 2:14.229
8) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 2:14.357
9) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 2:14.400
10) Armand Johany A. Johany 2:15.269
11) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 2:15.737
12) Arsh Johany A. Johany 2:16.082