2017 Event 4 Race 6

3.3 mins

The stakes had never been higher. The final race of the Formula 4 SEA Championship – fueled by Petron – was an absolute heart- and show-stopper that had everyone on the edge of their seats.

The starting grid for race 6, determined by the outcome of race 5, saw the top 50% of the grid reversed. This meant Adam Khalid was in pole position.

However an issue with his machine prevented the Malaysian from starting on the grid and he was forced to start from the pit lane.

Daniel Cao had a great start off the line with Kane Shepherd inches behind him.

The field filed down to Turn 1 gracefully enough, but the rest of the race was relentless wheel-to-wheel action. So intense was it, that Eshan Pieris found himself sliding out of top contention at Turn 6.

Kane Shepherd took the lead shortly thereafter, which left Cao no choice but to amp the pressure on the Thai lad.

Behind them a lot of bobbing and weaving was going on between Ugo and Hibiki in a battle royale for third place.

Kane, at this point was starting to pull out a substantial lead over the lightning-fast pack behind him. Hibiki then overtook Ugo for third position.

The foursome – Kane, Cao, Ugo and Hibiki had put some distance between themselves and the mid-fielders.

At the mid-way point, Hibiki found the chance to grab second place from Cao. Not far behind was Mitchell Cheah who started to gain ground on the front runners.

Muizz Musyaffa and Benson Lin started to lock horns with each other from lap 6 onwards. Joining them was Adam Khalid, who had made up incredible time to catch the duo.

By the final lap, the heat was truly on. The drivers were at their peak, concentrating hard on the job at hand.

The flag waved Kane Shepherd as the winner of the final race of event 4, with Hibiki Taira and Daniel Cao coming in second and third.

“I’m on top of the world right now. It was hard-fought battle but experience helped me maintain the lead. Overall – it’s been great!” said a very excited Kane.

“I gave it my best. But I need to have more time in the car. Testing will help me gain more experience,” admitted Cao, while Hibiki commented:

“I really wanted to win. But I’m happy with my result. I will do better next time.”


Pos Driver Time
1) Daniel Cao D. Cao
2) Adam Khalid A. Khalid
3) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd
4) Mitchell Cheah M. Cheah
5) Hibiki Taira H. Taira
6) Ugo De Wilde U. D. Wilde
7) Aaron Love A. Love
8) Eshan Pieris E. Pieris
9) Benson Lin B. Lin
10) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa
11) Liam Lawrence L. Lawrence
12) Luke Thompson L. Thompson
13) Alister Yoong A. Yoong
Pos Driver L1L2L3L4L5L6L7L8L9
1) Hibiki Taira H. Taira 2:19.0392:18.2282:14.0242:13.8462:14.4652:13.7832:13.9362:13.9902:13.915
2) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 2:19.0062:16.7022:14.6122:14.2592:14.0732:14.1242:14.1922:13.9932:13.990
3) Benson Lin B. Lin 2:19.7522:16.8512:15.6932:16.2732:16.6512:17.6562:17.3582:16.2042:18.000
4) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 2:22.1522:17.5202:27.7592:16.7602:16.6962:16.6872:16.8942:18.1452:17.652
5) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 2:20.5412:18.7572:14.5792:14.8082:16.2502:17.6892:15.8602:14.7432:14.378
6) Ugo De Wilde U. D. Wilde 2:19.5922:16.7822:14.3472:14.9392:14.6722:14.8182:14.8102:15.5742:15.294
7) Mitchell Cheah M. Cheah 2:22.5982:15.7602:14.8182:14.4882:14.2592:13.8142:14.0892:14.6052:14.663
8) Eshan Pieris E. Pieris 2:17.8952:24.0203:55.875
9) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 2:22.8172:18.2802:19.7532:19.3792:18.1182:18.0542:17.7442:18.1132:17.155
10) Daniel Cao D. Cao 2:19.7722:17.7982:14.6432:14.6262:15.2962:14.7872:14.9362:14.9782:15.290
11) Aaron Love A. Love 2:19.4662:23.3412:20.5802:15.5242:15.0822:14.4632:14.5452:14.8162:15.972
12) Adam Khalid A. Khalid 2:28.7142:15.9682:19.9642:14.0012:13.9542:14.2752:15.2182:14.2042:13.882
13) 2017 Event 4 Race 6 2. E. 4. R. 6 2:20.1502:19.5712:21.6832:17.5772:15.5652:15.5582:17.6562:16.7512:15.937
Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 20:17.455 2:13.990
2) Hibiki Taira H. Taira 20:18.526 2:13.783
3) Daniel Cao D. Cao 20:23.638 2:14.626
4) Mitchell Cheah M. Cheah 20:23.811 2:13.814
5) Ugo De Wilde U. D. Wilde 20:24.550 2:14.347
6) Adam Khalid A. Khalid 20:31.400 2:13.882
7) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 20:32.688 2:14.378
8) Aaron Love A. Love 20:37.768 2:14.463
9) Benson Lin B. Lin 20:39.262 2:15.693
10) Liam Lawrence L. Lawrence 20:45.690 2:15.558
11) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 20:54.771 2:17.155
12) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 20:55.736 2:16.687
13) Eshan Pieris E. Pieris 8:42.003 2:17.895 DNF