2017 Event 4 Race 5

2.4 mins

Yet again it was a fantastic start for the Formula 4 SEA stars as they barrelled down the main straight at full speed.

Ugo De Wilde was the first to head into Turn 1 followed swiftly by Hibiki Taira of Japan.

Bangkok-native Kane Shepherd trailed the Okinawan with the rest of the field in hot pursuit.

As the competitors navigated Turn 15, an incident involving Muizz Musyaffar and Alister Yoong saw both Malaysian contenders collide with one another. Muizz managed to carry on while Alister nursed his car back to the pits, subsequently retiring.

After the third lap, the field settled in for the battle ahead with Muizz trailing the leader by almost 30 seconds in the aftermath of his incident.

By the mid-point of the race, Mitchell Cheah of Malaysia found the pace to take 3rd position from Kane Shepherd who was facing immense pressure from Terengganu-born Adam Khalid behind him.

Cao managed to pass Benson Lin of Taipei, who stuttered as he went past Turn 15. Meanwhile, Aaron Love of Perth was making good progress as he climbed up the mid-field.

Adam was now defending hard against advances from Cao and Love.

Muizz on the other hand, had made up so much time that he overtook Luke Thompson.

As the chequered flag waved, Hibiki and Ugo de Wilde crossed the line in a photo finish, only a hair’s width apart. The Belgian took the top spot followed by Hibiki and Mitchell.

Sepang is very different from Buriram. It is more technical and the competition is stronger, but I really enjoy that!” said Ugo, the winner of Race 5.

“I’m really very happy too with the results. This is a great motivator for the final race,” said the second runner up, Mitchel Cheah.


Pos Driver Time
1) Ugo De Wilde U. D. Wilde 2:13.034
2) Hibiki Taira H. Taira 2:13.061
3) Aaron Love A. Love 2:13.167
4) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 2:13.182
5) Daniel Cao D. Cao 2:13.220
6) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 2:13.799
7) Benson Lin B. Lin 2:14.168
8) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 2:14.660
9) Mitchell Cheah M. Cheah 2:14.729
10) Liam Lawrence L. Lawrence 2:15.868
11) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 2:17.997
12) Eshan Pieris E. Pieris
13) Adam Khalid A. Khalid
Pos Driver L1L2L3L4L5L6L7L8L9
1) Hibiki Taira H. Taira 2:19.4962:14.2652:14.2192:14.0272:14.0732:14.1012:13.7282:14.5042:13.717
2) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 2:18.6352:14.2442:14.5422:13.7462:15.5212:13.7742:13.5432:15.0612:14.680
3) Benson Lin B. Lin 2:18.5212:15.1262:15.1212:15.1582:16.2672:17.3602:15.6042:16.0612:16.301
4) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 2:20.2232:20.6103:41.939
5) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 2:21.5212:36.8972:16.3432:14.7582:15.0472:15.0462:16.4672:15.0172:15.901
6) Ugo De Wilde U. D. Wilde 2:19.1792:14.3162:14.3922:14.0692:14.0032:14.0252:13.8152:14.3982:14.310
7) Mitchell Cheah M. Cheah 2:18.1492:13.7802:14.2652:13.7072:14.7032:13.7592:13.6672:15.0202:14.062
8) Eshan Pieris E. Pieris 2:20.6742:16.5502:14.6782:14.8692:14.7892:14.7402:15.5892:16.0702:16.138
9) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 2:22.9312:19.0092:18.5062:18.5572:19.0292:18.6402:18.7242:18.3762:18.226
10) Daniel Cao D. Cao 2:21.1822:16.2102:14.6772:14.0632:14.4402:14.6952:13.9662:14.1312:14.946
11) Aaron Love A. Love 2:25.2142:15.5192:13.9612:13.6912:14.1042:14.9502:13.5762:14.0152:14.400
12) Adam Khalid A. Khalid 2:19.9642:15.4432:14.5362:13.7192:14.5542:13.9552:14.7802:16.3642:14.126
13) Liam Lawrence L. Lawrence 2:20.9552:18.1102:16.3782:15.3552:15.9102:16.3642:29.9032:16.4382:17.090
Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Ugo De Wilde U. D. Wilde 20:13.912 2:13.815
2) Hibiki Taira H. Taira 20:13.968 2:13.717
3) Mitchell Cheah M. Cheah 20:15.624 2:13.667
4) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 20:16.685 2:13.543
5) Adam Khalid A. Khalid 20:20.713 2:13.719
6) Daniel Cao D. Cao 20:22.030 2:13.966
7) Aaron Love A. Love 20:22.088 2:13.576
8) Eshan Pieris E. Pieris 20:29.467 2:14.678
9) Benson Lin B. Lin 20:39.400 2:15.121
10) Muizz Musyaffa M. Musyaffa 20:50.574 2:14.758
11) Liam Lawrence L. Lawrence 20:51.400 2:15.355
12) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 20:57.177 2:18.226
13) Alister Yoong A. Yoong 8:26.901 2:20.223