2017 Event 2 Race 5

2.3 mins

The penultimate race of the weekend saw Ben Grimes on pole.

The Filipino, who won Race 1 on Saturday, started badly when his foot slipped from the accelerator. This allowed Daniel Cao to sneak in front.

Ben’s brother Sam, who was fifth on the grid, had a great start to pass Kane Shepherd and Timothy Yeo to move into third position.

Ben made up ground on Cao, who was having some steering issues. He closed the gap and managed to overtake the Chinese driver on the second corner of the second lap.

It was a lead he would not relinquish as he took advantage of Cao’s problems to add more distance between them.

While it was good news for Ben, Sam slipped to third behind Shepherd.

The duo was engaged in a titanic struggle for the next six laps with Shepherd blocking Sam at every corner.

Sam was feeling frustrated but kept his cool, waiting for an opportunity.

Behind them, Yeo nearly lost control of his car to fall to last place while Adam Khalid, Shivin Sirinarinthon and Luke Thompson were fighting each other.

At this stage there were four blocks of drivers with Ben ahead of Cao, Shepherd and Sam fighting for third, Adam, Sirinarinthon and Thompson and Yeo bringing up the rear.

Sam was continuing to push Shepherd and finally found a way past on the nine lap.

Coming into Turn 1, he flew past on the inside to claim third spot.

Once he did that, there was no way for Shepherd to catch him.

Up in front Ben closed out the win with Cao second and Sam making it a memorable day for the brothers.


Pos Driver Time
1) Ben Grimes B. Grimes 1:55.953
2) Daniel Cao D. Cao 1:56.307
3) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 1:56.642
4) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 1:57.250
5) Sam Grimes S. Grimes 1:57.354
6) Adam Khalid A. Khalid 1:57.414
7) Shivin Sirinarinthon S. Sirinarinthon 1:57.637
8) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 1:57.671
Pos Driver L1L2L3L4L5L6L7L8L9L10L11L12
1) Ben Grimes B. Grimes 1:57.6061:56.6951:56.8921:56.8221:56.8181:56.6601:57.2251:57 2651:57.4761:57.6391:58.1861:58.818
2) Daniel Cao D. Cao 1:58.5221:57.2221:57.3471:57.1341:57.5111:57.5201:57.9301:57.7671:57.9371:57.7941:57.8831:57.956
3) Sam Grimes S. Grimes 1:57.9331:57.8941:57.7021:57.2951:57.0021:57.7781:59.1561:57.1991:57.7701:57.3171:57.2541:57.280
4) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 1:57.8281:57.0691:57.4811:57.5451:57.7561:57.9221:59.2321:58.9091:57.9031:58.1201:58.1771:59.405
5) Adam Khalid A. Khalid 1:58.0971:57.9701:58.1981:58.9561:58.9061:58.6271:58.6471:58.8501:58.4381:58.6101:58.5221:58.948
6) Shivin Sirinarinthon S. Sirinarinthon 1:59.0141:58.9791:58.8711:58.9711:58.6341:59.0321:58.5831:58.5731:58.8021:58.8861:58.7761:58.935
7) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 1:59.0801:58.8211:58.9751:58.8581:58.5091:59.4111:58.5211:58.2931:59.0241:58.5771:58.8561:59.050
8) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 1:58.0351:58.0871:57.9352:04.1851:58.3701:58.7251:58.8811:58.1931:58.8991:59.1422:00.0781:59.929
Pos Driver Time Fast Stat
1) Ben Grimes B. Grimes 25:26.528 1:56.660
2) Daniel Cao D. Cao 25:30.483 1:56.134
3) Sam Grimes S. Grimes 25:31.201 1:57.002
4) Kane Shepherd K. Shepherd 25:36.702 1:57.069
5) Adam Khalid A. Khalid 25:43.553 1:57.970
6) Shivin Sirinarinthon S. Sirinarinthon 25:48.092 1:58.534
7) Luke Thompson L. Thompson 25:48.582 1:58.293
8) Timothy Yeo T. Yeo 25:51.594 1:57.935